60.4 F
Los Angeles
Thursday, November 30, 2023

Heart Dream Awards honors fourth-generation K-pop stars

Must read

Boy band Stray Kids at the 2023 K Global Heart Dream Awards [NEWS1]
Boy band Stray Kids at the 2023 K Global Heart Dream Awards [NEWS1]

Fourth-generation K-pop stars were honored at the 2023 Heart Dream Awards on Thursday, with boy band Stray Kids winning the Global Best Artist Award.

Hosted by TVDaily and fandom application Choeaedol, this year’s Heart Dream Awards was held Thursday at the KSPO Dome in Songpa District, southern Seoul.

While the award ceremony does not have a specific award that was named the “grand prize award,” Global Best Artist, being the last award to be announced on stage, was given to boy band Stray Kids.

K Global Heart Dream Main awards were given to a total of 10 K-pop acts, including boy bands Enhypen, ZeroBaseOne, The Boyz, Seventeen, Ateez and Stray Kids, girl groups ITZY and STAYC, followed by solo artists Red Velvet’s Seulgi and NCT’s Taeyong.

Boy band Hi-Fi Un!corn, which debuted in June, was awarded the Worldwide Rookie award and the Global Super Rookie award was given to ZeroBaseOne, BoyNextDoor and xikers.

Heart Dream Awards’ Global Best Subunit award was given to boy band Treasure’s T5, the Global Best Hip-hop award to Zico, the Global Best Vocal award to Kim Jae-hwan, the Global Best Rock award to Lee Seung-yoon and the Global Best OST award was given to Paul Kim.

The award ceremony also featured multiple fan-voted awards, with the Choeaedol Solo Artist and Fandom Donation award given to trot singer Lim Young-woong. The fan-voted best boy band award went to BTS and Twice took home the award for the best fan-voted girl group.

Other winners of the award include KARD, who won the Best Mixed-gender band award, Taeyong who also won the Artist Award chosen by the reporters, fromis_9 and The Boyz winning the Best Music Video award and (G)I-DLE, Le Sserafim, IVE, aespa and NewJeans received the best digital music awards.

To find out more about K-pop, visit Celeb Confirmed! 

BY CHO YONG-JUN [cho.yongjun1@joongang.co.kr]